The Judicial Service Commission is constituted by the Oyo State Government under Oyo State Law.
The Oyo State Judicial Service Commission is a statutory body established by Section 197 (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended) among 3 Commissions established therein .i.e. State Civil Service Commission, State Independent Electoral Commission and State Judicial Service Commission.
The Judicial Service Commission of the State is the regulatory body of the entire Oyo State Judiciary saddled under Section 6 of Part II of the Third Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as Amended, to among other things).
The Commission is Composed of Eight (8) members. The Chairman, who is the Hon. Chief Judge, the President, Customary Court of Appeal, the Attorney General, the Secretary, who is the head of the Judicial Service Secretariat and other 4 political members.
The appointment of four (4) political members was made by the Governor subject to the confirmation by a resolution of the State House of Assembly.